The Science team at Finham Park 2 are committed to delivering a high quality lively interesting and above all scientifically rich curriculum.

 

Term Year 7 Year 8
Autumn 1 Particles Atoms
Autumn 2 Cells and reproduction Food and digestion
Spring 1 Energy, electricity and magnetism Forces
Spring 2 Acids and alkali Sound and light
Summer 1 Ecosystems Chemical reactions
Summer 2 Solar system DNA and photosynthesis

 

GCSE science is taught across years 9,10, and 11. We follow the AQA GCSE science course.

Examinations Length When Controlled Assessment /

Coursework / Portfolio

GCSE Biology All exams

Summer

Year 11

 

There is no controlled

assessment however there

are integrated practicals

into day-to-day teaching

which will be assessed

within the examination

papers.

Paper 1 1 hour 45 minutes
Paper 2 1 hour 45 minutes
GCSE Chemistry
Paper 1 1 hour 45 minutes
Paper 2 1 hour 45 minutes
GCSE Physics
Paper 1 1 hour 45 minutes
Paper 2 1 hour 45 minutes
GCSE Combined Science: Trilogy
Paper 1 Biology 1 hour 15 minutes All exams

Summer

Year 11

 

There is no controlled

assessment however there

are integrated practicals

into day-to-day teaching

which will be assessed

within the examination

papers.

Paper 2 Biology 1 hour 15 minutes
Paper 1 Chemistry 1 hour 15 minutes
Paper 2 Chemistry 1 hour 15 minutes
Paper 1 Physics 1 hour 15 minutes
Paper 2 Physics 1 hour 15 minutes

 

Below is the link to the separate science specification.

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/gcse/biology-8461

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/gcse/chemistry-8462

http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/gcse/physics-8463

 

Students should use their revision guides and class notes for revision. A range of resources can also be found on the Science site on Frog. Revision guides are still on sale from the science prep room and can be purchased using ParentPay.

Students currently studying GCSE science have access to Kerboodle, an on-line resource filled with interactive tasks and a copy of the textbook online.

 

Department Staff

Head of Faculty Miss C Devlin c.devlin@finhampark2.co.uk
Mrs Parkhouse n.parkhouse@finhampark2.co.uk
Mr Plester r.plester@finhampark2.co.uk
Mr Hudson m.hudson@finhampark2.co.uk

 

Additional information needed

Mrs D Stones d.Stones@Finhampark2.co.uk
Mrs K Hunter K.hunter@finhampark2.co.uk
Mr S Green s.green@finhampark2.co.uk